Check Arjuna Award 2023 Winners List Sports Wise, Prize Money, Benefits

Bodoland News

Latest Arjuna Award 2023 Winners List: In this article, we have updated the Arjuna award winners 2023. 26 Athletes/sportsperson from various disciplines won the Arjuna Award 2023. The President of India, Droupadi Murmu gave away the National Sports awards – Arjuna Award to the sportsperson.

What is Arjuna Award?

Arjuna award is given to best performing athletes/sportsperson every year. The award ceremony was usually held on 29 August to commemorate the birth anniversary of the hockey legend Major Dhyan Chand.

Arjuna Award is highest sports award in India bestowed by the Government of India (Ministry of youth affairs and sports) to athletes or sportspersons for their outstanding performance in an international as well as national events and who also hold leadership qualities with good morals.

The Arjuna award was started in 1961 and is presented by the President of India every year to sportsperson of different categories. The honor is named after Prince “Arjuna”, the protagonist of the Indian epic “Mahabharata”.

Arjuna Award 2023

The Arjuna Award 2023 along with the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award, and Dronacharya Award was presented to the sports players on 9 January 2024 by the Indian President, Droupadi Murmu at the ceremony held in Rashtrapati Bhawan, New Delhi.

Twenty Six (26) sports players won the Arjuna award 2023, Arjuna award is the highest sports award in India after Khel Ratna Award.

Arjuna Award 2023 Winners List

Here’s the list of Arjuna Award Winners 2023:

Sl. No.Player NameSports Category
1Ojas Pravin DeotaleArchery
2Aditi Gopichand SwamiArchery
3Murali SreeshankarAthletics
4Parul ChaudharyAthletics
5Mohammad HussamuddinBoxing
6R VaishaliChess
7Mohammed ShamiCricket
8Anush AgarwallaEquestrian
9Divyakriti SinghEquestrian Dressage
10Diksha DagarGolf
11Krishan Bahadur PathakHockey
12Sushila ChanuHockey
13Pawan KumarKabaddi
14Ritu NegiKabaddi
16PinkiLawn Bowls
17Aishwary Pratap Singh TomarShooting
18Esha SinghShooting
19Harinder Pal Singh SandhuSquash
20Ayhika MukherjeeTable Tennis
21Sunil KumarWrestling
22Antim PanghalWrestling
23Naorem Roshibina DeviWushu
24Sheetal DeviPara Archery
25Illuri Ajay Kumar ReddyBlind Cricket
26Prachi YadavPara Canoeing

Download Arjuna Award 2023 winners list PDF (link coming soon).

Arjuna Award for Cricket 2023

Mohammed Shami won the Arjuna Award for the cricket game, he is the only cricketer to win the award.

Mohammed Shami Arjuna Award Winner has added himself into the Arjuna Award Cricketer List. Indian cricketer Mohammed Shami Arjun Awardee, Indian pace bowler took 24 wickets in sever World Cup matches in 2023 and was the leading wicket-taker in the world cup 2023 tournament.

Here’s the clip of Cricketer Mohammad Shami receiving the Arjuna Award from President Droupadi Murmu at the National Sports Awards distribution ceremony. After receiving the Award, he reacted by posting on X “Today I am feeling very proud that I have been honored with the prestigious Arjuna Award by the President. I want to thank all those people who have helped me a lot to reach here and have always supported me in my ups and downs… thanks to My Coach, BCCI,team mates,my family, staff and big thanks to my fans..Thanks to recognise my hard work..I will always try to give my best to make my country proud… Again thanks to everyone.. Congratulations to others arjun award winners”

Arjuna Award for Athletics 2023

Two athletes won Arjuna Award in the Athletics category. Murali Sreeshankar and Parul Chaudhary won the Arjuna Awards 2023 in Athletics discipline.

Arjuna Award for Para Archery 2023

Sheetal Devi won the Arjuna Award in Para Archery category. Sheetal Devi Arjuna Award winner is just 16 years old, she was the winner of the 3 gold medals at the Para Asian Games 2023 in Hangzhou last year. Sheetal was the only international para-archery champion without upper limbs due to a rare medical condition – Phocomelia.

Arjuna Award for Badminton 2023

Not a single badminton player won the Arjuna Award in the Badminton discipline this year.

Additionally, shuttlers Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy were chosen for the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna award for their breakout performances in 2023. The duo won their maiden Asian Games gold, which is also the first for India in badminton at the Asian Games.

Arjuna Award Prize Money 2023

What is the cash amount of Arjuna award is what all wants to know. The recipients of the Arjuna Award will receive a cash prize of Rs. 15 Lakh.

Arjuna Award Benefits

What is the benefit of getting Arjuna Award? The Arjuna award benefit include a statuette, a certificate, a ceremonial dress, and a cash award of Rs. 15,00,000 (15 Lakh) which was be presented by the President of India, Droupadi Murmu to the Arjuna Award winners in a award distribution ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhawan.

FAQs about Arjuna Award 2023 Winners List

Who won Arjuna Award 2023 in India?

A total of 26 sportsperson won the Arjuna award 2023 in India. The detailed Arjuna Award Winners List has been shared on this artcle.

Which cricketer won Arjuna Award 2023?

The Indian cricketer, pace bowler Mohammad Shami won Arjuna Award 2023. He was the only cricketer to win Arjuna Award 2023 in Cricket sport.

Leave a Comment